Micro? Macro? What is the difference?

Micro? Macro? Whats the difference?
Nothing. Micro is what Nikon call their Macro lenses. Macro photography can be identified immediately. If something small looks larger then life…Macro. If you see tiny details of an object you can barley see with the naked eye… Macro. Most things that are up close and person are Macros. I always feel like a scientist discovering new textures and shapes when I take Macro images. Macro is most commonly used for Still life & landscapes. Here are some examples of the ones I took this week:

Mirco Snowflake

click on the image to see even more of the snowflake’s detail!

The trick to get a clean shot of a Snowflake, is to take a piece of glass outside so it can get cold! Find a place outside where it is covered and prop it so it looks like a table. ( I used boxes on each side to hold it up) Then take the glass the sheet of glass of and hold it out to let some snow fall onto the glass. Place it back on your make-shift table and lay down underneath it. By laying down you can use the natural light to lighten your snowflake. Ta-da!

Mirco Leaves

You can get some really abstract looking shots by just getting in super close to your subject!

_dsc0022-orangeswp

That bokeh though!

Iris

I got a little daring on this one, and got the middle water droplet in focus with an f/3.2

For these images with the water droplets… I have to admit my dirty secret. (haha!) I didn’t have a spray bottle on me, so I tried scooping up water from a pond and flicking it onto the fruit. It still wasn’t what I wanted. Then I thought to myself, sometimes you gotta do whatever it takes to get that perfect shot! So I went over to the drinking fountains, took a drink, puckered up my lips, and blew out like an elephant! As weird as that sounds..It worked!
Both my methods this week sound a little crazy now that I’m writing them down, but hey you gotta get creative sometimes to get the shot!

3 thoughts on “Micro? Macro? What is the difference?

  1. katrinaspicshappy says:

    Alli, I love your shots. Your work in general has to be some of the best in our class. I love the creativity in getting the water on your subjects haha so awesome. And oh my gosh, your snowflake is AMAZING! I looooved how you shared you got that shot. You have some serious skills, great job.
    You can check out some of my work here: https://katrinaspicshappy.wordpress.com/ And I also really like Alex Bulloch’s: https://alexbulloch.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

